A tour group organized by St. Louis Bertrand Church in Louisville stopped by Mount Saint Joseph on the morning of June 19, 2025. The group of around 25 people pulled up in a tour bus in the circle near St. Angela Hall. Sister Michele Morek told them some of the history of the Ursuline community as they looked around near Lourdes and the Guest House. One of her anecdotes was how the Ursuline Sisters of Mount Saint Joseph became independent from the Ursuline Sisters of Louisville. She said they call each other cousins now. Later when the group toured the Motherhouse Chapel, Sister George Mary Hagan spoke about some of the stained-glass windows, and the visitors were given copies of the “Divine Light” booklets showcasing and explaining the windows. They also made a brief trip through the Heritage Room hallway in Lourdes.
Two of the visitors were very familiar with the Mount. Mary Ford Vuncannon graduated from Mount Saint Joseph Academy in 1955, and Chris Schwarz Beets graduated in 1970. Ford, who used to be an officer for the Alumnae Association, recalled when some of the Academy students would work at the school to help pay for their tuition. The tasks included cleaning classrooms and buildings. She also remembered how the sleeping areas were curtained off from each other, unless you were a high school senior and got a private room.
The “Bells and Beaus” tour bus trip also included a stop at the Passionists Nuns Monastery in Whitesville.
Here are some photos of the visitors.













