Sister Susan Mary Mudd travels the way of the cross with Jesus

Sister Susan Mary Mudd is the next Sister to help us journey through Lent in 2024, sharing with us her spiritual reading during these 40 days. We call this feature “How We Observe Lent.”

“For myself, I can think of no better way to observe Lent than to meditate on the Stations of the Cross and the Seven Dolors of the Blessed Mother, combining that with my daily life; Walking with Jesus and trying to do small things in remembrance of His Life, death, and Resurrection.”

The Severn Dolors (Sorrows) of Mary identify the seven events or periods in the Blessed Mother’s life when her suffering was most intense:

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34-35)
  2. The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-21)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for Three Days in the Temple (Luke 2:41-50)
  4. The Carrying of the Cross (Mary meets Jesus on the way to Calvary) (John 19:17)
  5. Jesus Dies on the Cross (The Crucifixion) (John 19:18-30)
  6. Jesus Taken Down from the Cross (Mary receives Jesus) (John 19:39-40)
  7. Jesus is Placed in the Tomb (John 19:39-42)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *